Life After Dublin Comic Con

I don’t update this blog enough – I barely got to update Comix Ireland enough in the run up to Dublin Comic Con – so there’s a lot to catch you up on. The biggest changes, by far, are in the things I keep on my market/convention table. Since my last post, I’ve attended two conventions – WexWorld and Dublin Comic Con – as well as the Geek Mart and Small Press Day. In that time, I’ve released a few new short stories, and a whole range of comics.

Chuck issue #1 was released with How to Live with Your Cat (When Your Cat is an Internationally Renowned Assassin) at Small Press Day in July, with Conor Carroll and Gareth Luby on art, respectively. Chuck is a pacifist ninja with a vow of silence and a magical sword, whereas Frankie (the assassin cat) is loaded down with sass and more weapons than the average person can carry.

Frankie then made a proper comic debut in Meouch, art by Gareth Luby, at Dublin Comic Con. Where his first book deals with his life with his owner – or rather, how his owner survives having a cat like him around – the second book deals with a mission, Operation Bad Dog. We get a look at The Client, and a good taster of how homicidal our wee protagonist can be. Inspired by Gareth’s own cat, Frankie is one that you’ll be seeing a lot of over the next while.

Then there was The Wren issue 13, my print debut with Buttonpress Publications. I previously worked with artist Jason Browne on Tomte: The Warrior Elf ahead of Christmas last year, and now I’ve taken up the pen with the company properly. In issue 14, I’ll even get to introduce a villain! (But no spoilers as to who they’ll be or what they can do!)

As well as new comics, I also introduced a whole new range of print at Dublin Comic Con. The style is a bit minimalist, but the process ended up being a lot more complicated than expected for some characters. Loki and Thanos remain two of my favourites, but nothing beat the moment that someone got Batman signed by Kevin Conroy.

batman_signed_conroy

Since the convention, I’ve been busying myself with a few different sorts of work. A large part of my day on Tuesday went to cleaning up and putting away stock. Then, the work began on getting back to writing. The words didn’t come so easily, which I suppose is in part down to tiredness, and in part down to wanting to write a follow-up story to something I wrote a couple of months ago and haven’t looked at since.

A completely separate part of my workload was in creating a list of things to do for the rest of the year – some large projects, some habits I want to form – and prioritising them based on completion dates. This will see me being incredibly busy, and putting out a lot more material online. There’ll be a lot more writing going live, and a few more illustrations in the same style as my superhero prints.

Life after DCC, when I wasn’t recovering and trying not to get sick, has included a lot of thinking, planning and working out finer details in things. There’ll be new books and comics on their way over the next year, and a range of designs that’ll challenge me beyond belief. Which is good. Part of what I’ve needed the past while has been a challenge. (And trust me, the things I need to be doing for the next three weeks are going to be a massive challenge.)

Expect more soon. Including some hair pulling.

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

