The Difference of One Week

When I was younger, a week felt like a very short time at all to get anything done. A week was filled with school, homework, football (oh God, why?) and somehow fitting in time for family (you know, when I wasn’t playing the Playstation.) I mean when I was really young. We’re talking twelve, maybe fifteen years ago. A week felt like an incredibly short period of time in which to get anything done around all of the busy-ness of life.

Life has only gotten busier. While I have (thankfully) been able to abandon the pursuit of fitting in on a football team (I didn’t even watch football, so whatever was supposed to be accomplished by having me play is lost on me) I have only ended up with more to do in my week. Almost all of it comes down to personal decisions I made about how to spend my time, with the rest of that time being the very adult thing of having a job. (And that’s nice, really. It’s like school, but I don’t have to be surrounded by assholes while working, and I get to spend time with friends, and I get paid for it. I do not understand why anyone would want to not work in some respect. Anyway.)

My week currently looks like this: Monday-Thursday, work 9-5.30. Friday, work 9-4.30. Weekends, off.

Simple, right?

Then I throw in the added extras. We’ve got some really basic ones – read a poem every day (spiritual development), put something up on Instagram (maintaining a semblance of activity on social media), read from my book list (continuing to learn). Then there are the ones that take more time – write something every day, which can be a simple (and stupid) poem, or a flash story, or a thousand words of a book; write a film list (I have a film list book, so I do one of those once a week); write a blog post (like this one, which doesn’t count towards writing something because I need them to be distinct entities; that’s a minimum of twice a week, though I’m aiming for more than that.)

The week fills up a bit with that added in. Still plenty of time. Add in the cinema on a Friday evening (most weeks.) Technically, we should also add in a movie from my film list – a combination of my Project 87 list, and some movies I’ve been wanting to see but haven’t gotten around to yet, and movies that I want to write about but that I’ve already seen at least once in the past.

Between all of that, the “free time” in the week is considerably reduced. (I try to make up for it by using travel time productively, but there’s only so many different things you can do on the bus. So mostly, I read.) Then there’s additional work. Say I want to help out with the monthly conventions. Well, this is where we find the difference a week can make. In the last week, because of said convention, I’ve done a website consultation, and helped organise the appearance of an awesome guest. I’ll be doing some videography work this weekend, and at the next monthly convention I’ll be doing some more, as well as some photography.

There goes more time, right? I’m also trying to keep up a schedule on YouTube (we’ll see how that one turns out) and trying to get more productive in terms of writing an multimedia work – beyond the daily writing requirement. I’d like to say I could add in some drawing into my day, to learn how to draw properly. Even if just for the fun of it, I’d like to draw a comic. (I love comics, and there’s the added benefit of a comic book being the most commercially availably version of sequential art, not unlike the use of storyboards in movies – comic book adaptations could be really easy for the big screen if it weren’t for the length of a story, sometimes, and the visual effects, and the interior monologues.)

(I started my attempt at a schedule with the above video, and because I have no other context in which to share it here…there it is.)

But the difference a week makes is massive, in my experience. A week can get a YouTube video online. A week can get someone additional work. A week allows someone to watch an entire series of American Horror Story (guilty as charged) or to write a flash story starting with nothing but a vague idea. (When I get around to editing the last couple of stories I wrote, I’ll explain that one properly.) A week can you a new job (it was less than a week between my interview for my current job and the start date) or give you enough time to write a book (like when I wrote Balor Reborn in the summer of 2012). A week is a lot of time, and while schedules can change and circumstances do an awful lot to mess up your plans or make things extraordinarily amazing relative to your expectations, it’s a lot more time now than when I was a kid.

Pepper: my AHS character of choice to express the joy of productivity, because she's entirely unassuming

Pepper: my AHS character of choice to express the joy of productivity, because she’s entirely unassuming

This week’s stats: 4 blog posts written (two published here, one on The Cinema Freak, one unpublished), 3 poems, one flash fiction story, one video, one website consultation. Also one entire series of American Horror Story (Freak Show, for those interested to know), and one movie (Dogma).

Let’s see what next week churns out, will we?

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Difference of One Week

  1. Steve says:

    I’m working on a secret project to add more hours to the day. Wanna help? Lol

Leave a Reply

