Resolutions Towards Revolutions

Back when I worked in retail, I surprised my co-workers a fair bit with my developing interest in non-fiction titles, particularly given the fact that they came from the Business and Personal Development sections. When I began to read these titles, I took it upon myself to ensure that I kept trying to improve, to become more focused and to follow up on my ambitions. It so happens that, with the New Year just begun, I’m also perfectly positioned to re-invigorate my life – with a sizeable break in work to make things a bit easier.

I always set New Years Resolutions, and often I manage to stick with them for a while. But just a while. So, I’m attempting to address that issue.

I have a big to-do list for the year, and I’m working on some IRL gaming techniques towards increased productivity, but in the meantime, I’m looking at my New Years Resolution and deciding to make it fairly simple: get through a reading list, and write up book reports when I’m done.

So far, my list is only 18 titles long. I’d hoped for 26 – a book every two weeks – but I’m sure I’ll find more to add to it as I get through the year. These titles vary from books on marketing to personal development to outright case studies of particular businesses (Google and Twitter, to be precise). I’ll be adding some film books to the list as I go along, too. The aim is to keep myself focused on those matters throughout the year, while I work on my creative projects.

While the reading itself will be incredibly helpful and informative, the book reports will give me a cheat sheet to turn to after reading. As a collection, they’ll be my number one source for information and guidance throughout the year – and that’ll probably be enough to make me skim through a lot of other books I’ve already read to add to the reports.

I don’t doubt that some people might find this resolution boring, but I promise that as I start putting it into practice, I’ll be better able to keep up with my creative projects – with a sense of purpose and drive behind them. And, I should point out, there are quite a few of them to work on this year!

I’ll have some new titles out myself this year – so lots of writing to do – and I’ll be producing a lot more video and photography work throughout the year. (I’ll be able to attend conventions and do whatever I want at them – bliss!) I’m also looking into a general multimedia project, which will keep me busy for a long time.

All in all, it’s going to be interesting year, and I’ll be turning to some to experts in my reading list to help keep me going, and to figure out the best ways to get the word out there about some of things I’ll be doing. Forgive me if I squee in excitement if something amazing happens at any point in 2016. Sometimes, I just can’t help myself when things go right.

But hey – enough about me! What are your resolutions? Anyone else going to be attempting a reading related one?

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

