Master and WriMo: Day 15 of NaNoWriMo

I’ve had a busy week. That’s a nice way to start a post, right? I was busy, and I wrote 16K. That’s an even better way to start the post, and it gives some clarification as to what I might have been doing. I was busy, I wrote 16K, and I began preparations for a conference/life. Perfect.

Week 2 of NaNoWriMo is, and always has been, the tiring week. After the madness of Week 1 and the attempts to get way ahead, many authors feel themselves slowing down. I am no exception to this rule. My 16K, while still great, was hindered by both tiredness and lack-of-stimuli-induced apathy. Thankfully, there were a few things thrown into the mix to reinvigorate me ahead of Week 3: the week people want to quit, because they’ve been at this NaNoWriMo business for just a little bit too long, thank you very much.

But before I get to pulling out my hair, let’s talk about all of the other stuff that I was doing. Most significantly: the conference. Earlier this week, a friend of mine talked me into going to a conference later this month. Perhaps due to my love of events, this wasn’t a difficult task, but it did raise an interesting problem. At a conference like the one I’ll be attending, networking opportunities are bound to come up. People will want to be able to find out more about me if I happen to be of interest to them. This is a thing that books on networking tell me would happen. (And, to be fair, I have been the person wanting to know more info at conventions and conferences this year.)

The number 1 way most people get this information from people: a business card.

Now, my pre-existing business cards are kind of bad. Like, awful. A friend of mine used to poke fun at them. Well, at the image on them, the banner of my website. It’s pretty bad. It’s incredibly amateur. And the cards point people towards the website with the bad banner and the lack of updates, and none of that is a good way to impress people.

old banner

This is my old banner, in all its glory. I want to burn it with fire.

So, I’m taking it upon myself to update the site before the convention. In one week. With nothing done on it so far that actually lets me display “content” in any way usefully. (“Content”, because I’ve got an array of stuff going on it soon!) But I also had to take one more important step, and redesign my business card.

I’ll be posting the image online in the near future (I kind of want it to be a surprise at the convention!) but I did manage to pull a design together. This took up a whole evening, during which I did no actual writing (just some planning, because my book still needs a lot of those “finer details” that make a book complete.) However, I have the cards, and I’m getting ready for the event, and that made me feel pretty damn good.

Between the day I submitted the cards on the printer’s site, and the day I was able to pick them up, though, something else happened. I received my results for my Masters. And I got a First Class Honours!

paul carroll likes this

Once upon a time, I made myself a meme. This feels like an appropriate use of it. For once.

I’ll give you a moment to absorb that information. If you’re shocked, I won’t hold a grudge against you – because so was I!

I’ve been on a bit of a buzz ever since I got the news, and it’s made the conference and the new cards take on a new meaning in my life. They’re the first moves towards entering the field professionally, the first things that give me a chance to say who I am and what I can do, and I can now comfortably talk about the whole experience without worrying that, while I might be good at what I do, I wasn’t good enough for the grade I wanted. I think I would have felt the same no matter the grade I received, of course – it was the clarification that I needed.

Before the convention next weekend, you can expect a revival in the design of this blog and my social media sites, as well as the launch of my new and improved website. It’s going to be a fun week – and I’ve still got that little matter of 50K to reach. November’s a fun month, isn’t it?

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Goal Setting, Life, Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Master and WriMo: Day 15 of NaNoWriMo

  1. jessiblah says:

    Congratulations on the 1.1! That’s fantastic news!

Leave a Reply

