Planning Progress and Website Considerations

With less than a week before NaNoWriMo, I’ve been working my way through my plan, and working on some thoughts for my website. At the moment, The Marked Ones has a plan reaching 36 chapters, which is bringing it towards a television equivalent of a mid-season break; I’ve set up characters for life-or-death situations, have others on their way towards reaching their goals, and have a few surprises in store for the rest.

With this in mind, it’s looking like it could be a book of about 80 chapters, which feels like a lot – except that I don’t know how long each chapter will be. What I do know is this: I have a longer plot in mind for this book than I might reasonably fit into a single novel, which will make this a series. No surprises there. I also have a reasonably good idea of how much I might be expected to write this November, if I dedicate all of my writing time to actually writing. I’m looking at about 125,000 words. I’d love to reach that. I’d love for this to look like a complete book when it’s done.

But here’s the other issue: I want to launch my new website soon, and I don’t know whether to (a) launch a smaller, fairly incomplete version before NaNoWriMo, (b) wait until after NaNoWriMo to finish it, or (c) work on the website during NaNoWriMo.

Here’s my current plan for the site, with the proposal for the additional content not yet ready to go live:

website proposal list

I’d love to get the whole thing up and running, but I don’t want to rush into it – particularly not when I’m trying to re-brand myself after my Masters.

The reality is this: for the current plan, I need to code the pages still, to display the content I want for each section. For the additional material, I’d need to curate some more content, take more photographs, and code an entirely new type of page for the Ophelia Project. I’d also need to turn my ideas for covers for ‘The Marked Ones’ and the Irish myth books into actual designs, which I’m positive I can’t complete before NaNoWriMo – not while working full-time!

So there’s the million-dollar question: focus on NaNoWriMo alone until the end of November, or attempt to work on the website before or during it, taking into account how much writing I think I can get done over the course of the month?

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Goal Setting, Life, Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Planning Progress and Website Considerations

  1. jessiblah says:

    I doubt it’ll kill you to leave it off for a month. Work on it when you can, but don’t try to get it done asap I’d say. Sounds like you’ll need to do a bit of work on the sections planned, so maybe try to do that during a bit of your spare time. 🙂

    • Paul Carroll says:

      This is true. The fact that I’m not even ready to publish them, and my plan for The Marked Ones is still a work in progress, should be enough to convince me to just leave it. Heh.

Leave a Reply

