Instablogging

I saw a post pop up in an Irish Bloggers group earlier this week about Instagram Bloggers. I thought about it for a moment, but ultimately had to ignore the post in favour of thesis updates popping into my inbox and notifications. The post simply asked if there were other Instagram Bloggers in the group. That simple. But it got me thinking: am I an Instablogger?

A few years ago, on my older blog, I used to post book reviews. I loved doing it, but couldn’t keep up with the demand to read all the time when I was in college. Technically, I still have that problem now, but I’ve since moved on to different types of books that allow me to post a little more often. I alternate between business and lifestyle books, and comic books. The reading times are radically different, and the time it takes to write a review is about the same.

The thing is, I used to never use Instagram. It wasn’t easy to find a photograph, and write the text on my phone. Now, I write the reviews on my laptop and email them to myself. I take a photo of the cover of the books when I finish them, and simply upload it with the review whenever it pleases me.

It’s a new form of blogging for me, and one I hadn’t even realised I was doing.

Now, I get to write reviews of books as I read them, and not feel like I’m creating a mish-mash blog all over again – which is precisely what my last one became. While my Instagram has other photos on it, it’s all part of one journey, and one aesthetic, never delving too deeply into my personal life, never dealing with things that require more words than is appropriate for the platform. Short reviews, with recommendations for who I think would like them, and what I liked about them. Nothing more, nothing less, nothing complicated about that at all.

What about you? Are you an Instablogger?

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Life, Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

