Becoming an Irish YouTuber

I put my video ever vlog on YouTube on July 20th 2009. I was eighteen years old, a couple of months shy of entering college, completely nervous about the whole thing, and I didn’t know many Irish YouTubers.

The reason for that is obvious, now: there weren’t many of us.

Last summer, the Irish YouTuber Tag was created, and there were a lot of videos created as a result. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to make my video at the time, and it’s only now – months after I was tagged – that I’ve managed to make the video.

In that time, I’ve joined the Irish YouTubers Facebook group, and the sign of the times is clear: there are way more Irish YouTubers now than there were in 2009. The group is over 500 strong, and I’m pretty sure the admins are still receiving applications to join on a regular basis, which is awesome.

Last weekend (see my post about the #IrishCreatorsDay and YouTopia) was a turning point for me. I hadn’t felt like part of the community until I actually got to meet the community. I got to talk to the people whose videos I’d watched for a few months. I got to meet people I hadn’t heard of before, but whose names I’d probably seen in the Facebook group (and, now, whose posts I pay a little bit more attention to). We had a “few” drinks together. Heck, people were even sharing drinks from pitchers with me. Hurray for generosity!

As we had our final drinks of the night in the pub, I made a little toast, to mark my first gathering. In reality, it marked the first time I felt like I was an Irish YouTuber.

Physically, I’ve just about recovered from the weekend. My voice eventually came back – though my Tag video was recorded back in the days of the Great Rasp. Emotionally, I’m still attached to that feeling of involvement and inclusion, and it was on the back of that that I recorded my Irish YouTuber Tag video.

I’ll be back again in a few days. In the meantime, check out the Irish YouTuber Tag playlist above to get to know a few more Irish YouTubers.

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

