The Birthday Blog

Yesterday, I turned 24. Do you want to know how that feels? About the same as it felt being 23, except that I’m one year closer to a quarter of a century, and I wasn’t in work on a Sunday. That was bliss.

grootI’m not going to do a “haul post” on what I received, but I will show one awesome addition to the décor in my hilariously small bedroom. I’ve been looking for a Dancing Groot Pop Vinyl for a long time. After the initial delivery of them to my local comic book shops in Dublin, he became impossible to find anywhere. Unfortunately, working in retail at Christmas meant I couldn’t get my hands on him.

Thankfully, my brother knew I was looking for it and picked it up for me as part of my present. It also came with an Evil Queen Pop Vinyl, because I have a slight obsession with fairy tales, and I seem to have begun amassing a collection of these things (Groot and the Queen joined Peter Pan and Pinnochio). So yeah, if you’re ever stuck for a gift idea…

Dancing Groot wasn’t even my favourite part of my present from my brother (that is, my twin brother, who received an X-Men hoodie from me – we’re that cool.) He went all the way down to Cork to see a friend from Twitter who just so happens to be an amazing artist. Unfortunately, I don’t know her name, so I can’t properly credit her artwork if I share a picture of it. Yet.

It was an amazingly relaxing day, but I’m now faced with the realisation that I’m a year off 25, and a question decided to invade the privacy of my thoughts…

What should people have done or tried by the time they turn 25?

I don’t mean some of the things that seem…standard. You know, house, car, family – the package deal that varies according to generation. (My parents, for instance, in their mid-20s when they had my older brother.) I mean the things that comes before “real life” gets in the way.

What do you think?

Since the question popped into my head I haven’t had a decent answer. Right now, the only logical solution is to ask the Internet and see if anyone can make some suggestions. Who knows, if I get enough suggestions, I might just make this a 25 Things To Do Before I Turn 25 challenge, with all the added pressure of it being public, because that’s how I set goals.

So go on ahead. Post your recommendations. Let me know what you think I should try to do in the next year of my life. Let’s make things interesting!

 

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Birthday Blog

  1. I remember at 24 going to see Shutter Island in the theatre. I had just gotten off of work and had been looking forward to it the entire day. I had read the book cover to cover and thoroughly enjoyed it. When I arrived at the movie theatre (with my crazy love affair college prof boyfriend) I reached the ticket counter and found that I had left my ID at home. The guy behind the glass smiled smugly and said, “Sorry no ID no admittance”. I lost it! “Are you kidding me, I’m fucking 24 years old. I have a bachelors degree, I have a had two full fledged careers, I have been married, I have filed for divorce, I have bought a home, I have been a landlord, I think I can handle the five second sight of old octogenarian testicles, twerp!” It was at that moment that I thought, how incredible, how much I have achieved in these couple of decades. By the next year I was 25, had seen so many fantastic foreign countries, had a job that allowed me to travel to a new city in the nation each week and experience so much of life. I was promoted to district manager and was finally settling in with my now husband. I would say travel, take a summer to backpack somewhere far away, I loved Indonesia, and my husband a huge fan of Istanbul & Korea. But while you have that freedom that would be my thing to add to the list, live an extended time in a new and intriguing (to you) culture.

Leave a Reply

