My Mistake – Music and Advertising

Last week, I made a mistake in one of my posts. Did you spot it?

correction

 

That might be a little bit hard to read, so here’s the thing: I stated that if you used Kevin MacLeod’s music, you couldn’t use advertisements on your video. That statement, it turns out, was completely and utterly wrong.

If I had bothered to look at MacLeod’s FAQ, I would have seen that he clearly states anyone can use his music, even if they use ads on their videos. Instead, I had been totally focused on making sure I didn’t get caught up in a mess with copyright and usage, I avoided his site completely. (What can I say, I like his music so much I’d be afraid I’d never leave!)

Literally the only reason I realised my mistake was because another Irish YouTuber included MacLeod’s music in his latest video, and used adverts at the same time. Because that person read the terms of use.

And here’s the part where I explain myself!

I almost never use work that is in Creative Commons. I haven’t had need to in a long time. the last time I used it, including MacLeod’s music, I specifically avoided putting ads on the video, because it was a book trailer. That, and the fact that the rest of the material prohibited the use of monetization.

I had become so used to the specific terms of use by the photographers on Flickr whose work I was implementing in book trailers, I ignored the information that would have been useful to me now. But then, that was a year and a half ago.

So there you have it!

If you’re looking to make videos for YouTube, ignore my previous warning against adverts, and enjoy the music of Kevin MacLeod.

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

