Goal Setting: February 2015

In my last post I spoke a bit about how I set goals, with a focus on three dimensions of goal-setting: positivity, specificity, and declaration.

In what I hope I keep as a recurring theme for the site, I’m announcing publicly by content creation goals for the month of February – tying in with the need to declare my goals – in clear and certain terms for all to see.

blog posts 14 YouTube videos 8 short stories 4

 

Many of my ideas for the month are already in place, with my focus split across personal stories and informational content. As you might have already noticed, this blog is an extension of my YouTube channel, albeit more active. The simple reasoning behind this is that when I have a quiet room to create a blog post, I don’t necessarily have to make a lot of noise while doing it. Unfortunately, the quietest time of the day is usually the worst time to record a video in a bedroom…

Get your mind out of the gutter.

Poor lighting, and a requirement not to wake up the baby in the house essentially mean that when everyone is asleep I cannot record a video. This is why I tend to (a) record a couple of videos at a go, and (b) write more blog posts than I publish videos.

With the intent to create 8 videos in the month – that’s an average of 2 per week, but could likely turn into 3 in one week and 1 in another, depending on how my schedule plays out – I’ll actually be slowing down from last month’s progress.

There’s a very good reason behind this, aside from the fact that I’ll be starting back with lectures: I’m planning a series of videos that I need to do some vague scripting for, and when they’re ready to be recorded, I’ll likely have to do all of that in a single day. I can expect my voice to hate me by the end of that, but it’ll be worth it.

See, there’s the final goal for the month, that isn’t a statistical goal in terms of content creation: prepare that series of videos for recording in March, to launch in April. That’s two months for a lot of videos. When they start, I’ll probably keep to making two videos a week, but I’ll actually be publishing three per week. Bit by bit, I’m going to stack my monthly goals towards reaching my annual goal.

Time will tell if that plays out as planned. In the meantime, I’ll be adding categories to the menu of this site for those who wish to find particular types of posts more easily, which will be increasingly useful as I diversify the content over time to focus on specific content types.

Peace out!

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Goal Setting, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

