Setting Goals

A few years ago, I began to surprise my colleagues at work by buying books on business and personal development and marketing, perhaps because they were so different to the typical books I was buying (Children’s, Young Adult, Fiction, and a bit of Sci-Fi), and perhaps because to them I was still the sixteen year old boy who started working in the shop in 2007.

Over time, I began to find more people whose books and words I was interested in, from Rebecca Woodhead (friend first, teacher later) to Brendon Burchard, and countless others who post on business and positivity and productivity and all the things that teenage boys don’t typically display an interest in. In fact, it’s always been a big regret of mine that I didn’t go with my gut and study Marketing in college, instead of teaching – which, if I had gone for the DIT course, I could very well have gotten a place in. I gave in to the idea that teaching was for me, not just because I liked the idea, but also because I doubted myself when it came to the notion of marketing. (And, likewise, I couldn’t see what I might do in the likes of Communications in DCU. Hindsight, eh?)

Flash-forward a couple of years from the CAO and I’d read The Four-Hour Work Week. I was watching videos by Brendon Burchard. I was reading articles by Rebecca Woodhead. I was reading Ray Higdon’s blog. And I was still pursuing teaching.

2015, and I’m setting goals that go beyond the classroom.

I set goals in a way that must be: positive, specific, and declared. Positive, as in “I will gain” or “I will become” rather than “I will lose” or “I will stop”. Specific… do I need to define that? Numbers, people. And declared… like right now.

My goal for YouTube is to reach 1600 subscribers by the end of year. If you watched the video at the top of this post, you’ll see that I did some bad maths to calculate the probability of reaching that goal.

Goals

So scientific. So possibly-delusional. And yet, so declared. The idea behind it was that I could keep building my audience at a much faster rate as the audience itself grew. There’s some logic in there somewhere, though it does fail to focus on things like free will, and marketing (which, you know, would have been handy right about now), luck, and a number of other factors I can’t control. But that’s not the point.

The point is, I have set a positive goal – to gain subscribers; I have set a specific goal – to reach 1600 subscribers, and; I have declared the goal, with this post, and with the above video.

As it happens, my other goal in the video – to do something “worthwhile” every day – does loan itself towards recording more videos, which would help towards the subscriber goal. In theory.

But enough about me and the weird thoughts that go through my head. What are your goals for the year? What are your tips for others who struggle to keep to their goals and resolutions?

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Goal Setting, Life, Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Setting Goals

  1. Pingback: Goal Setting: February 2015 | Paul Carroll

  2. Pingback: The Birthday Blog | Paul Carroll

Leave a Reply

