A Daily Dose of Encouragement

I’m a firm believer in creating positive habits as part of a daily routine. It might sound silly to those who haven’t tried it, but when I find something that I can include in my day that makes even a little bit of a difference, I don’t let it go.

Lately, it’s been a song by Rob Cantor, whose music I discovered by accident when his Shia LaBeouf song popped up on YouTube. One thing led to another, and the next thing I know I’m listening to I’m Gonna Win every day.

I’ve always found the use of the word “win” in common rhetoric to be a little bit off-putting, like the use of the phrase “crushing it”. It never really fit into my vocabulary very well, and as 2015 rolled around and I was still struggling with finances, I decided I needed to change my way of thinking.

I started with something simple, since I knew I was going to be busy teaching for three weeks this month: I set myself goals to reach in terms of output of blog posts, videos, and short stories.

As of yesterday’s post on this blog, I reached my target there for the month – 8 posts. It was supposed to be an average of 2 per week, and that didn’t go quite as planned on a separate blog I keep. So, I started afresh with this site. By the end of the month, I’ll have reached my 8 posts here, anyway.

The same goes for videos: a target of 5 this month. Ideally, one per week. In reality, one in the middle of the month, and four towards the end.

The short stories are the problem, in that I had to write three (even 3 flash stories), and I didn’t. Not even 1. It was entirely for a lack of trying. I’m going to attempt writing at least one before the month is over, but I don’t imagine I’ll be sharing it for some time.

Come February, I’ll have a whole new set of targets, which I can see being largely influenced by my recent activity on YouTube, and the new existence of this site. Perhaps it’s because I’ve managed to keep this up on a daily basis for a week at this point, and there tends to be a greater reaction to posts here than on my older blog, but I find that the more I work here, the more it feels like the time investment is worth it.

Tomorrow, I’ll be focusing one goals in more detail, less towards production goals, and more on the achievement end of things. As an end-of-the-month post, I think it’ll serve as a good start to the rest of the year.

In the meantime, comment below about your daily doses of encouragement and happiness. You never know what might help someone who needs a little boost.

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

