Saved by my Work Ethic

During my first semester of college last year, we had a module on Digital Audio and Sound Design. It turns out, that module saved yesterday’s video.

Our lecturer drilled it into us to save our work as we went along, partly by reminding us every time we went to do an exercise, and partly through the exercises themselves – the projects to learn how to use ProTools provide a step-by-step method for doing the work, which includes saving at regular intervals.

notimpressedWhen I uploaded my video yesterday, How to be a Video Blogger – a not-so-expert guide to making better videos, that was in itself an exercise in how to work – I made a mistake. Specifically, I uploaded the unedited video.

I can almost laugh about it now, from my private little corner of shame on the Internet. No one even pointed out that I had put up the dodgy version. I just noticed because someone commented on it, someone from the Irish YouTubers group I’m a member of. It was the exact notification I needed to realise that something had gone terribly wrong.

My first response: privatise the video. Delete the links leading to the video. Panic.

That was the easy part. Then I had to try find the actual finished product. I was lucky, and stupid, but I had a back-up plan in mind anyway. See, when I went to export the video again, it told me that it was already done. The video existed. I was just too blind to see it. That, and I’d saved it in the wrong place by accident, because I’m really not used to Premiere Pro just yet.

I eventually found it – hiding in the folder for the video I’d done previously – but I never would have found it. It hadn’t exported with the name of the project. It had exported under the name “Sequence 01_1”. I never would have guessed it. I never would have looked in the folder for the old video.

Literally the only reason I knew it was there was because I had the project saved to export it again. Between the work ethic developed during my first semester sound module and my history of using Windows Movie Maker to do all of my editing (hence the lack of editing my old videos have!) I had to save the project as I worked. I was afraid I would lose it all.

Nope, not lost. Just ignored.

Learn from my mistake; whatever you’re working on, save your progress as you go, and save it where you will find it. I’m not going through that again!

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Life, Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

