How to be a Video Blogger

I’ve been on YouTube since 2009. Since then, I’ve put up over 100 videos. Most of them are awful. A few received a decent number of views. By and large, I haven’t done a great job of being a YouTuber. I used a bad camera, I used bad video editing software, and I didn’t really plan my videos.

I’m currently going through a period of transition in my life, and I decided to pick up the slack on my channel while I was at it. To do that, I needed to improve my videos. I’ve started semi-scripting them, actually editing them, and as of today, doing more with the video before uploading it.

My most recent vlog is a how-to video, on how to be a video blogger. It’s essentially a step-by-step of what to include to make things a little bit better, and it’s the first time I’ve actually implemented any of the tips I really give. Here’s a look at the five things you need to be a video blogger (aside from the obvious: a camera, a computer, and an account of YouTube or Vimeo or some other site.)

1. Charisma. I’m not a natural wordsmith when it comes to talking to people. I fumble over my words. I still feel slightly awkward talking to a camera. But then, I’m also trying to keep my voice down while I record these things…while speaking loudly enough that I can be heard in the video. Thank you irony.

2. Music. It’s not essential, but it can give some life to a video when the speaker – like me – can come across a little bit flat in an attempt to speak slowly enough to be understood. You can get royalty free music from Kevin MacLeod, but you can’t apply ads to your videos if you do so.

3. An Icon. Now, I’m not talking about including a video blogging icon into your video such as James Mitchell YouTube Sensation. I mean a little logo. Something to stop thieves from stealing your video from YouTube and putting it on their own channel or website. Nasty little thieveses.

4. Banner Art. YouTube will annoy you about it by making your channel look unbearably dull until you put it in. I went a long time without one, and then it occurred to me that I used the Adobe Suite a lot in college in my first semester, and I really had no more excuses.

5. An End Screen. Rather more vital to finishing a video than including music. It allows you to actually end a video in a way that isn’t quite so sudden. While my video isn’t the Best Video in the World EVA, it does fade out at the end, and it has a call to action – subscribe (to the channel), like (the video) and comment (on the video).

I’ll never claim to be the best video blogger in the world. Or the country. Or the county. Maybe on the street. Maybe. But I think a lot of that comes down to the fact that I’m not the best talker in the world, and less to do with the fact that my videos are poorly made. (I even covered up the awful parts of the video with little transition things, because getting silence in this house long enough to record a video is damn near impossible!)

Have any tips of your own? Why not share them below, or in the comments on YouTube? Sharing is caring!

(On a related note: it helps to check that you’re uploading the correct video before you hit “publish”, because when I first published this one…I didn’t.)

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Life, Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to be a Video Blogger

  1. camiiela says:

    I wish i were entertaining enough to vlog! Lol, but great tips!

Leave a Reply

